Skip to content


Vedic Astrology is known as Indian Astrology, Hindu Astrology or Nepalese Shastra. It is also known as Jyotish because the Sanskrit word “jyotisa” means light and this is shining a light on the future. The aim of Jyotish is to remove any worry or fear of the future. Because you will know what to expect – you will know that the bad times will not last forever and that even amongst the more challenging times, there will be good periods too. Once you join, you will receive your Vedic Astrology Chart as a PDF. This page will help you to understand it.

One of the texts it is based on is the “Vedanga Jyotisha” which is considered part of the Vedas. However, many other texts are used as a basis for the Vedic Astrology interpretations and predictions used today. Jyotish has been used for thousands of years.

The Jyotish chart’s “houses”

Each Vedic Astrology Chart has 12 houses (Bhavas) relating to different aspects of life.
The 12 houses in a Jyotish chart

Indian Astrology chart “signs”

In a Vedic Astrology Chart (see example below), each of these parts or segments has a number associated with it. Each number relates to the “sign” (Rashi) of the house.

Gala Gals Jyotish chart

  1. Aries (Mesha)
  2. Taurus (Vrishabha)
  3. Gemini (Mithuna)
  4. Cancer (Karka)
  5. Leo (Simha)
  6. Virgo (Kanya)
  7. Libra (Thula)
  8. Scorpio (Vrishchika)
  9. Sagittarius (Dhanu)
  10. Capricorn (Makara)
  11. Aquarius (Kumbha)
  12. Pisces (Meena)

So in the example chart of GalaGal, there is the number 7 in the first house (where “AS” for ascendent is marked). This means that GalaGal’s ascendent (also known as “Lagna”) was 7 meaning “Libra (Tula)“. As this house governs the personality (as shown in the picture above), this means that GalaGal’s personality was influenced by being a “Libra”.

Vedic Astrology chart “planetary influences”

There are also 9 planetary influences – the seven planets we see in the sky namely the Sun, Moon, Mars, Venus, Mercury, Jupiter, Saturn – plus two nodes of the moon called “Rahu” and “Ketu”.

In GalaGal’s chart, for example, she has “Ve” for “Venus” in the first house – the house of personality, so her personality is also influenced by this. Notice that her Sun, is in the twelfth house of knowledge / expenses in the sign 6 – so Virgo (Kanya). So GalaGal’s Sun sign is Virgo. Because of the influence of the north and south nodes of the moon, often the sun sign in Vedic Astrology is very different to that in Western Astrology as it pushes it around 3 weeks backwards. So if you are a Leo in Western Astrology, in Vedic Astrology you may be a Cancer. However, in Vedic Astrology the Ascendent is considered more important as it governs your personality.

GalaGal has the Moon in the ninth house of purpose / dharma in the sign 3, so Gemini (Mithuna).

Beneficial plantets

Some planets are considered as having a mostly beneficial influence. These are Mercury, Venus and Jupiter.

Detrimental planets

Others are considered as having a mostly detrimental influence. These are the Sun, Mars, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. The Moon sometimes has a beneficial influence and sometimes a malefic influence. However, some Jyotishis would argue that there are no negative influences of any planet. It is just that some encourage consolidation rather than progress and all influences are needed. For example, Jupiter tends to cause growth and expansion, whereas Saturn makes us turn more inwards and this can help our spiritual development.

The strength of each planets influence in your chart

On the Vedic Astrology Chart that you receive once you become a member of the Compatibility Club, you will see on the right hand side towards the bottom the Shad Bala is shown. “Shad” means “six” in Sanskrit. “Bala” means “strength”. This shows the relative strengths of the influence of each planet in your chart. Here is GalaGal’s Shad Bala, showing that Mercury is the planet that has the greatest influence on her life:

Shad Bala planetary strengths

The planets are “Lords” of certain signs

Each planet is a lord of a certain sign. This means they influence the house that sign governs even though they aren’t actually in that house.

Here are the details of which sign(s) each planet has influence over:

The planets are friends, enemies or neutral to each other

Notice that sometimes there are more than one planet in the same house. This makes it more complicated as the planets in a house have an influence on that house. And if there are more than one, you have to consider how friendly each planet is to the other. For example, the Sun and the Moon are friends and can happily reside in the same house together. Whereas Jupiter feels enmity towards Mercury. But Mercury has neutral feelings towards Jupiter.

Vedic Astrology planet friends enemies neutral

Periods of one’s life

Planetary periods are called “Dashas”. They are set based on your birth time and affect all aspects of your life going forward. There are Maha-Dashas – large periods of time. And within each of these periods there are sub-periods. So even if you are in a Maha-Dasha ruled by a challenging planet like Saturn, there will be smaller periods within this when you may experience the effects of a more beneficial planet like Jupiter.

On the Vedic Astrology Chart that you receive once you become a member of the Compatibility Club, you will see on the right hand side the Vimshottari (which means 120 in Sanskrit stands). The Vimshottari Dasha is based on the assumption that the most you will live is 120 years and it divides the periods accordingly. Here is an example of a Vimshottari Dasha:

Vimshottari Dasha example

So this means that this person in 2018 is in the large period of Ra (meaning under the influence of Rahu) and the smaller period of Jupiter and the smaller still period of Venus and this sub-sub-sub period began on Monday the 2nd of April 2018 and will end Monday 27th of August when the next sub-sub-sub period of Su (meaning under the influence of the Sun) will begin.

See Interpreting The Panchānga Details Of Your Vedic Astrology Chart (and about Nakshatras) for more details.

The effect of the movement of the planets

The effects of the movements of the planets are called “Gocharas”. Like the Dashas, they also have an effect on all aspects of our lives. For example, when the moon is getting fuller it is supposed to be a very creative dynamic time. Whereas when the moon appears smaller in size (half moon etc), this is more of a time to rest and restore oneself.

The effect of the planets aspecting the houses they see

This is known as “Drishti”. This comes from a Sanskrit word meaning “sight” and you can imagine that a planet in the heavens is looking and therefore affecting a specific house by seeing it. Each planet has defined aspects.

The effect of the planets placement in relation to each other

This is known as a “Yoga”. These can sometimes produce effects that are even more important than some other localized effects.

Why is a Vedic Astrologer needed?

Determining all of these various influences (and even more which we haven’t covered) is complex and that is why we advise that you consult an experienced Vedic Astrologer (Jyotishi). Please contact us if you would like us to put you in touch with one.